The Oxford International Brigade Memorial Committee keeps alive the memory and spirit of the men and women from Oxfordshire who volunteered to defend democracy and fight fascism in Spain from 1936 to 1939

About the Oxford International Brigade Memorial Comittee

The Oxford International Brigade Memorial Committee (OxIBMComm) is affiliated to the International Brigade Memorial Trust (IBMT), charity number 1094928, but is independent of it.  The views and opinions expressed on this website are not necessarily those of the IBMT.

The Committee currently comprises Colin Carritt (Chair); John Haywood (IBMT National Executive Member); Chris Farman; Chris Davies; David Chanter and Cllr Tom Hayes (Oxford City Council)

The memorial is administered and managed jointly by the Oxford City Council and the IBMT under a Memorandum of Understanding which can be seen here (to follow)

IBMT News from the AGM in Hull 13th October 2018.
There are some changes on the 14-strong IBMT Executive Committee, who were elected at our Annual General Meeting in hull on 13 October. They are:
Richard Baxell has stood down as Chair to devote more time to his academic work, to writing and to his family
His place has been taken by Jim Jump, for long time the IBMT Secretary.  Megan Dobney ably takes over the role of Secretary.  Megan has long been an important figure at the SETUC.
Our own John Haywood, from Banbury, a member of the Oxfordshire committee, remains on the committee and a trustee
Manuel Moreno remains as Treasurer
More details here: